

The Chancellor as Returning Officer

NOTICE OF ELECTION

for the elections for the Senate, the Faculty Councils, the School of Theology's Appointments Council, the Student Council and the Student Committees of Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg from June 4 until June 12, 2025

Please not that only the German version is legally binding.

General provisions, legal basis Ι.

In accordance with Section 48 of the Bavarian Higher Education Innovation Act (BayHIG), the Regulations governing Elections at FAU (Electoral Regulations), the Implementing decree on the Bavarian Higher Education Innovation Act (AVBayHIG) and the Constitution of Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg (GrO), the representatives in the Senate (Section 35 (1) BayHIG), in the Faculty Councils (Section 41 (1) BayHIG), the Student Committees (Section 27 (2) BayHIG, Section 24 (5) GrO), the School of Theology's Appointments Council (Section 30 (5) sentences 3–7 AVBayHIG, Section 19 (2) GrO) and the Student Council (Section 27 (2) BayHIG, Section 24 (3) GrO) shall be elected by the members of the group to which they belong (Section 19 BayHIG).

All terms of office begin on October 1, 2025; the terms of office of student members shall end on September 30, 2026, the terms of office of the other members shall end on September 30, 2027 (Section 7(1) Electoral Regulations).

All regulations that are of significance to the university election can be found via the Elections Office's (Wahlamt) web page (see below).

II. **Committees to be elected**

Representatives will be elected for the following committees:

1. The Senate:

a) six representatives from the group of full-time university lecturers; pursuant to Section 3 (5) Electoral Regulations, all full-time university lecturers at the University shall elect one member from each of the five faculties, and the sixth member from the entire list of candidates in the group

b) one representative from the group of academic staff and doctoral candidates

c) one representative from the group of non-academic staff.

2. The Faculty Councils of the five faculties:

For each council:

a) twelve representatives from the group of full-time university lecturers

b) four representatives from the group of academic staff and doctoral candidates

- c) two representatives from the group non-academic staff
- d) four student representatives.

3. The Appointments Council of the School of Theology:

a) six representatives from the group of full-time university lecturers b) two representatives from the group of academic staff and doctoral candidates

- c) one representative from the group of non-academic staff
- d) two student representatives.

4. Student Committees:

The members of the Student Committees (Fachschaftsvertretungen) will be elected at the same time as the student representatives for the Faculty Councils. The number of members and how they are determined are regulated by Section 27 (2) BayHIG and Section 24 (5) GrO. Currently each of the Student Committees have the following number of members:

a) Faculty of Humanities, Social Sciences, and Theology

14 members

III. Nominations

Nominations may be submitted from April 23, 2025 until 4pm on May 6, 2025.

Nominations are to be submitted to the Elections Office or the Returning Officer using the nominations forms, which are separated according to committee and group. Nominations that are submitted after the deadline are **invalid**. Only candidates whose nominations have been accepted may be elected. Further information can be found on the information sheet about submitting nominations which is available on the Elections Office's website (wahlen.fau.de) along with the election nomination forms.

Nominations accepted for the election by the Elections Committee will be published on FAU's notice board in Erlangen, Freyeslebenstraße 1, Rotunda, floor 03 and for information purposes also on the Elections Office's website.

IV. **Right to vote and electoral register**

Every member of FAU who belongs to one of the groups stipulated in Section 19 BayHIG is eligible to vote and be elected. Exercising the active and passive right to vote depends on entry in the electoral register at the time it is closed. The electoral register shall be available for inspection from 9 am to 12 pm on May 2, 2025, and from 9 am to 4 pm on May 5 and 6, 2025 in the Elections Office (see address below).

The electoral register will be closed at 9 am on May 7, 2025. If you have not been entered in the electoral register or your entry is incorrect, you may submit a notification in writing to the Elections Office. However, these notifications may only be submitted if you are eligible to vote and are entered or should be entered in the electoral register. A notification such as this must be submitted to the Elections Office or the Returning Officer at the latest by the first working day after the electoral register has been closed, i.e. by 4 pm on May 8, 2025.

Those who are eligible to vote and are included in the electoral register will receive a polling card from late April. The polling card informs individuals eligible to vote which group and faculty they are registered to vote for in the electoral register and which electronic polling station they must vote at. Those who are eligible to vote and have a fully activated IdM account will receive their polling card as an electronic document via the internet portal online-wahlen.fau.de. Those who are eligible to vote but do not have a fully activated IdM account will receive their polling card in writing and will be instructed to apply for and fully activate an IdM account by May 12, 2025 at the latest in order to be able to vote electronically. If they have not fully activated their IdM account by May 12, 2025, those eligible to vote will receive personalized log-in credentials (PIN and TAN) by post in the week before the election period in order to be able to authenticate their identity using the PIN/TAN procedure.

If the electoral register is corrected, those eligible to vote who are affected by the changes will receive a corrected polling card.

V. Election deadlines and casting votes

The university election will be held entirely online from 9am on June 4, 2025 until 9am on June 12, 2025.

Votes are cast on separate ballot papers for each committee. The number of votes that each voter may cast is equal to the number of representatives in the corresponding committee that are to be elected for the group to which they belong.

b) Faculty of Business, Economics, and Law	14 members
c) Faculty of Medicine	10 members
d) Faculty of Sciences	11 members
e) Faculty of Engineering	15 members

However, the final number of members in the Student Committees is calculated on the basis of the number of students at each faculty at the time of the deadline for submitting nominations (see Section 3).

5. Student Council:

Fifteen student representatives are elected directly by all students; a further fifteen members (three per faculty) are chosen by the Student Committees from their members.

Further details are stipulated in Sections 11 and 14 Electoral Regulations.

Election result VI.

A copy of the announcement of the election result will be displayed on the FAU noticeboard in Erlangen, Freyeslebenstraße 1, Rotunda, floor 03. The election result will also be published on the Elections Office's web page.

Erlangen, March 11, 2025

Christian Zens Chancellor

University Administration's Elections Office:		
	Freyeslebenstraße 1, 91058 Erlangen, room 03.5234	
Contact:	Ms. Bautz, phone +49 9131 85-25805	
	Ms. Vaask, phone: + 49 9131 85 25826	
Email:	hochschulwahlen@fau.de	
Fax:	+ 49 9131 85 26712	
Internet:	wahlen.fau.de, online-wahlen.fau.de	